The winner of the latest 2000 AD Art Stars competition has been announced!

It’s the competition that gives artists the chance to be published in the legendary anthology AND get paid for it – and Uwe De Witt is the latest winner!

2000 AD Art Stars winning entry by Uwe De Witt

Matt Smith, editor of 2000 AD, said: “The standard for the latest 2000 AD Art Stars competition has been unbelieveably high – it was a challenge to choose from some outstanding pieces. But in the end, Uwe’s entry felt like it reflected the strip’s rich legacy of artistic innovation. Channelling Bill Sienkiewicz with a touch of Bisley, plus plenty of references to Sláine’s history, it’s a vibrant and challenging piece of art that rewards repeated viewings. Congratulations to them, as well as runner-up entries Danny and Patrick, and thanks to everyone who entered.”

Uwe’s entry will be printed in a future issue of 2000 AD.

Uwe is joined by runner-ups Danny McMullen and Patrick David, both of whom win a bundle of 2000 AD graphic novels.

Art by Danny McMullen
Art by Patrick David

Three or four times a year, artists are asked to submit a Star Scan of their own take on one of 2000 AD‘s legendary characters – the winner not only gets their winning entry published in 2000 AD but they get paid for it too!

The theme for the latest competition was Sláine the Barbarian. He’s sliced and diced and warp-spasmed his way through history for 37 years – and he didn’t think it too many! Created by Pat Mills and Angie Kincaid in 1983, with duplicitous dwarf Ukko and his favourite weapon – a stone axe called Brainbiter – by his side Sláine is a combination of Robert E Howard’s Conan and the ancient Irish hero Cú Chulainn. Headstrong, arrogant, brash, and not afraid to chop first and ask questions later, Sláine MacRoth has become one of the mainstays of 2000 AD – helped by the incredible artists who have drawn him since his debut, such as Kincaid, Glenn Fabry, Simon Bisley, Dermot Power, Greg Staples, and Simon Davies.

The next theme of the 2000 AD Art Stars competition will be announced on Friday 16th October. The terms and conditions of entry can be found at and you can follow the competition on Facebook and Instagram.