It’s the greatest prize in comics – the 2000 AD talent searches at Thought Bubble are back!

Two panels, two winners – one writer, one artist. The prize? Paid work with the Galaxy’s Greatest Comic.

The 2000 AD writer talent search is back with budding writers looking to follow in the footsteps of giants such as Alan Moore, Neil Gaiman, and Mark Millar by sending in two-minute videos of their pitches for a Future Shock – short four-page stories with a sting in the tail that have been the legendary proving ground for some of the biggest names in comics.

Join panelists Maura McHugh (Anderson, Psi Division), Ram V (These Savage Shores), and graphic novels editor Oliver Pickles as they watch and judge finalist Morgan Pielli, Zack Moore, Matt Lewis, Patrick Draper, and Honor Vincent, and decide who should get the chance to turn their idea into a strip for 2000 AD!

So who won? Find out by watching the panel below (please excuse the unexpected blank stretch in the first minute) >>

And then it’s Dragons’ Den meets the Nerve Centre as Tharg the Mighty’s droids sit in judgement on hopeful artists looking to join their ranks! This year, artists were asked to draw their own version of the four-page story ‘HALF LIFE’, written by former editor of 2000 AD, John Tomlinson!

After a rigorous selection process by Tharg the Mighty, entries from five finalists – finalists Andrew Strachan, Geoffrey Krawczyk, Lee Milmore, Luke Molver and Stephanie – go before our expert panel of artists Doug Braithwaite (Journey into Mystery) and Liana Kangas (Star Wars), and Rebellion graphic novel editor Oliver Pickles. The winner will join previous victors such as James Newell, Robin Henley, Paul Williams, Tom Foster, Daniel Dwyer, Will Morris, and Tilen Javornik.

So who won? Watch the judging panel now >>

Congratulations to both winners, who will now go on to paid work for 2000 AD! And a huge thank you to everyone who entered both competitions this year and congratulations to all those who made the shortlists.

We’ll be back for Thought Bubble 2022 with the greatest prize in comics!